RSS Feed

Jillian Michaels – No More Trouble Zones: Review

No More Trouble Zones is one of my favorite workouts that I can do at home on DVD. I own a few different DVDs by Jillian Michaels, but this one is the most effective workout. I burn around 350 calories with this workout based on my Polar HRM.

NMTZ is a 40-minute (50 with warm-up and cool down) circuit workout that really gets your heart rate going. I prefer this workout over 30 Day Shred, Banish Fat Boost Metabolism, and Shred It! with Weights. Although I will say, all of these DVDs are good in their own way.

There are seven, six-minute circuits in the workout. I enjoy circuit training because it makes the time seem to go by faster.

For the workout you’ll need a mat for the floor, although I am fine with the carpet, and hand weights. I’d suggest starting with a 3 pound weight. If you’re really new to working out you could even start out with a 1 pound weight. I’ve even heard a few ladies mention they hold a full water bottle in each hand! My point is, don’t over do the weight on your first time. Better to realize you used one that was too light than not be able to move your arms for a week!

The hardest move in this DVD is The Surrender! You hold your hand weights up above your head (like you’re surrendering) and get down onto one knee, then bring the other knee down so you’re kneeling on both. With your hands above your head the entire time, you bring one knee up and stand. Doesn’t sound that bad? Let me know your thoughts after you try it! It’s killer!

If you have severe knee issues, this workout may not be for you. I have some minor issues with running mainly, but there isn’t a lot of jumping in this workout so I personally don’t experience issues. However, Banish Fat Boost Metabolism has some plyometric type jumping which cause my knees some pain.

For the most part, I’m not a huge fan of at home DVD workouts but this one is definitely effective and you get a good bang for your buck! Super cheap on Amazon and I’ve seen it sold for $10 at Target.

If you’re looking to invest in one of Jillian’s DVDs, consider this one. You’ll be sure to sweat.

About Danielleisms

A lot about life and love...

One response »

  1. I have always wondered about this one! I have 30ds and Shred It (with Weights) and I think another? I had to stop doing them for a while because I was having knee problems (level 2 of 30ds I think started it all) I’ll have to pick it up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

