RSS Feed

What do you have?

Lately I’ve found myself having some low days where I feel sorry for myself. I get caught up in thinking about all the things I wish I had. The situations and circumstances I wish were different. The places I’d rather be.

These thoughts of wishes and wants and what if’s get me no where, they never get you anywhere. They perpetuate the funk you’re in and blind you from seeing what you do have.

Last night and this morning I was in one of these funks. As I was driving home from the store this morning, out of the blue an internal voice seemed to whisper, “Think about all that you do have. Think about all the things that make you so lucky. You have no reason to be sad.”

Now, obviously this seems like simple advice and it really is. Sometimes we get so bogged down in our own anxious and negative thoughts that we don’t appreciate the things that bring us happiness and that keep us alive.

When I heard the whisper in my head, I actually felt like I woke up from the funk (Versus logically recognizing I should be thankful for what I have, which often doesn’t make these funks go away.). I looked around on this overcast day and thought to myself, “Wow! I am so blessed and so lucky to have so many wonderful things. So what if a few things are out of sorts?”

I won’t go on and list all that I have and all that I want, but I wanted to recognize how lucky I am. Things will never be perfect. We just have to take what we have to work with and make the best of it.

Now, of course I expect to have more days where this said funk kicks in, but today I kicked it out.

Take five minutes out of your day today and tell yourself why you’re lucky and focus on what you have. It’s bound to improve your mood even just a smidgen. ^_^

About Danielleisms

A lot about life and love...

2 responses »

  1. Great advice Danielle!

    Reply
  2. I love this blog. Gives me warm fuzzies. :o) A similar thing happened to me recently too, actually. It really helps to step back and look at your situation from an outside perspective. Obviously it isn’t possible to be completely unbiased, but when you try, it’s amazing what you can see! I’m glad you’re able to see it too. And I think the swings are normal, and what keep us going and determined to achieve. Not a bad thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

