RSS Feed

Will CrossFit be the end of me?

About three weeks ago I started CrossFit. Several months back, after hearing great things about CrossFit from a friend (Thanks, Chris!), I snagged a Groupon for a one-month unlimited membership. It was $45 for one-month of unlimited classes. It took me a while to finally get there and start, but on January 24th I sucked it up and went in. I have been going to CrossFit Jaguar which is located in Tampa, Florida.

As soon as I pulled up and saw the previous class finishing I was pretty intimidated. Strong men throwing weights, a more rough-looking atmosphere than most gyms, but as I looked further I also saw your average looking woman, man with a beer belly, and I thought to myself, “Hey, who says I can’t fit in here too?”

My first class was a foundations class, which is geared more toward beginners but offered for everyone. It goes over the basic lifting moves and introduces you to the workout of the day (WOD). I was lucky in that my first class happened to be all newbies, so I felt less intimidated. I enjoyed the class and in just that hour managed to burn around 500 calories (per my heart rate monitor). I was pleased.

Everyone has been very helpful. Not only the coaches, but the other members. They have shown me the ropes and someone always seems to step and help if I get confused or don’t know how to do a certain move or activity.

The regular classes last about an hour. You always start with a warm-up, followed by a skill focus (dead lift, shoulder press, etc.) and usually work towards lifting your max weight for a pre-determined number of reps. i.e. I could do a split jerk with 65 pounds but I couldn’t get 70, so my max was 65 lbs for 1 rep.

After the skill focus you move into the WOD which changes every day. They are typically done for time and upon completion you check your time and post it on a board. It’s usually done in interval fashion, where you move from one thing to the next and sometimes you may repeat for a certain number of rounds.

So, to sum things up, if you’re scared to try CrossFit you should give it a chance. It’s a great total body workout and you will be sure to challenge yourself. If you don’t feel comfortable with something, ask for help or a modification. Don’t try to go too crazy because injury is no fun!

Have you tried CrossFit? Did you love it? Hate it?

About Danielleisms

A lot about life and love...

One response »

  1. Crossfit Jaguar is where I was going before I moved! I was about 3 months in and I loved it! iT feels good to accomplish things you never thought you could, but man is it hard. Tell Janet hi for me!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

