RSS Feed

All over the place.

So now that I’m back from all of the wedding festivities and our honeymoon, it’s time to get back on track with fitness. The problem is that I am all over the place. Let me explain.

I was doing CrossFit for the  two months leading up to our wedding. It was intense, but I enjoyed it! I can no longer go to that particular CrossFit gym, so I have to find a new one.

I also want to do the Disney Princess Half Marathon next year. It’s in late February 2013. I am not saying I can’t train for that and do CrossFit, sure it’s possible. What I’m saying is I know how I am and if I ask myself to do both, it will be too much.

The other dilemma is that CrossFit is expensive. I can run outside for free, and I’ve also found a YMCA close to work that offers a ton of classes as well as having the standard equipement set-up of course.

I am leaning towards the running goal/YMCA membership. Like I said, I really want to do that half and the YMCA offers Body Pump (which I love).

In other news, I am excited to read Bob Harper’s new book when it comes out in a few weeks. It’s called the Skinny Rules. I have the Jillian Michael’s book Master Your Metabolism somewhere collecting dust. Maybe I’ll dust if off this week and read it!

So what do you think about my fitness dilemma? Have you read Jillian’s book?

About Danielleisms

A lot about life and love...

5 responses »

  1. I was recently in the same dilemma, ymca/outside vs. pricey yoga membership that does all kinds of stuff including cycling but I ultimately went with the ymca because there was no contract. I can always change my mind if it doesn’t work out the way I want. Good luck!!

    Reply
  2. I bet Crossfit would help a TON with your running endurance! I have been slacking a lot on strength training, which is dumb of me because it increases my ability to run both faster and for longer so much. Whichever you choose, make sure you get the running practice and a lot of core work in. Keep us posted! ❤

    Reply
    • True, but CF is intense and to get my monies worth I’d need to do 4-5x a week so it’d be hard to do training runs too! I def. am going to continue to strength train.

      Reply
  3. Erika Stauffer

    Run baby run! I hung up my running shoes last year after my Rheumatologist told me it was no longer an option due to the osteoarthritis in my knees. I’m still grieving. I say that sincerely. Please, for all of us who will never run again, Just Do It! Run a half and then train for a marathon. I’d suggest finding a running group who’s training for a race. They’ll adhere to a strict schedule. This will give you the support group and structure you need to succeed. I’m here cheering you on from the sidelines! Go girl!

    Reply
    • I think the half would be a good long-term goal! 🙂 My knees gave me issues when I was doing 10ks so I need to be careful. IDK about a marathon but I want to do the half! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

