RSS Feed

CrossFit it is.

Posted on

Well, a decision has been made! If you know me, you know I can be indecisive and fickle, but I’ve made my mind up (for now…).

After considering whether to stick with CrossFit, join a gym, or run a half marathon, I have decided I want to get back to CrossFit.

I want to explain my decision and share my thoughts.

While I’d love to feel the glory of finishing a half-marathon, I have to think about my knees and how they felt when I was running 10Ks. They felt sad and angry. I saw a doctor and went to a physical therapist for a bit, but I don’t think it’s necessarily in my best interest to try to go past 5-6 miles. Not until I can commit to strengthening my knees and the muscles that support them (read: lazy when it comes to that stuff). Also, as you’ve read, I running and I have an on-and-off again relationship and right now I am giving running evil stares from across the room.

Why am I not joining a conventional gym?

The main reason is that while I was running and lifting yesterday at the gym I had a realization. I was surrounded by people who weren’t working that hard. Now, before you get offended, let me explain. I applaud anyone who takes the time to go to the gym and workout and I mean that. For me though, being surrounded by people walking at a 2.5 on the treadmill isn’t super motivating. That being said, if all you have in your is to walk a 2.5 on the treadmill, rock on! What I mean by this is I personally, like to be surrounded by people who are better and fitter than me (or at least trying as hard as those people), it pushes me to work harder. Plus, I think we can all admit we’ve felt that “lost cat” feeling a the gym before.  Okay, I just made that up but let’s go with it. You know what I mean, that lack of direction, not knowing where to start or what to do next.

I also ran into the common issue of the weight area being dominated by men who hog the space, but beyond that, it was the “lost cat dilemma.”. I was wandering around doing random strength stuff. Some machines, some things I learned at CrossFit, and I realized that I need direction! I want to make the most of my workout, not wander around doing this and that.

So with all of that said, I’ve landed on CrossFit. When I was doing CrossFit the two months leading up to the wedding, I felt strong, confident, and would leave feeling like I just got my butt kicked and never doubt that I just had a great workout.

To make things even better, CrossFit Jaguar is running a Groupon for one-month of unlimited classes so John is going to do it and go with me. It’s a great deal!

I’m excited to get back and happy it’s something John and I can do together, at least for now. 🙂

Have you tried CrossFit? What did you think? Love it? Hate it?

About Danielleisms

A lot about life and love...

One response »

  1. Pingback: Strength Training will save you, so get off the elliptical. « Danielleisms

Leave a Reply

