RSS Feed

Don’t You Know Who I Think I Was?

Posted on

Everyone always tells us to dream, and to never give up on those dreams. I agree with that sentiment for the most part. Everyone should have goals, aspirations, hopes, and dreams. I think the question for me is “Is it worth it?”

When I was in high school, during my junior year I met with a career adviser. Which in retrospect, at 16 I had no idea what I’d really want to do with the rest of my life. The man had my high school transcript in front of him, and asked me what I thought I’d want to major in, what I’d like to do.

I told him I wanted to be a pharmacist and go to pharmacy school. Now, if you know me, math and science are not my best subjects, yet I always found pharmacology very interesting. The man saw my grades of C’s in biology and chemistry and said to me, “You know how they say you can be anything you want to be when you grow up? That isn’t true.” Ouch. The man had a point though.

Could I have become a pharmacist? Sure, maybe so, but I would have been in hell and always struggled with my coursework.  Would it have been worth it?

Today, ten years later (oh lord), I can tell you I don’t feel like I’m missing out on my dream career as a pharmacist. I ended up going to college and went though the following progression of majors: criminal justice, international studies, mass communications

Did I land in the right place? I’m not sure. I don’t think it was the wrong place. I am glad I got out of international studies when I did, because that would have led me down a quick road to nowhere, but I wonder what I could have done with criminal justice. I really wanted to work for the DEA, particularly the more behind the scenes stuff with investigations.

For the past five years I have been working in marketing. Do I like it? Sure, it’s okay. Do I feel like there is something out there that is more me? Yes, I do.

What is that? I don’t know.

The commitment of pursing a new dream is big, and I want to be sure it’s the right one. I’ve considered air traffic control, hair/makeup artist, wedding coordinator, physical therapy assistant, pursing an MBA, or looking back into that DEA idea. Kind of all over the place, right?

At 27, I still feel young enough to know that I can achieve my dreams, whatever they might be. I suppose there should never be an age cap on dreams.

Maybe one day I’ll know, maybe it will just come to me when I least expect it and I will feel 100 percent sure. That would be nice. But maybe it won’t, and I’ll just have to take a chance…

Did you ever make a career change? Do you feel like you choose the right path in college?

About Danielleisms

A lot about life and love...

6 responses »

  1. I hear you loud and clear on this, and I can relate. I do think getting out of computer science after my first year at UCF was the right decision, but I can’t help feeling like I could’ve done a little more research before getting into tech writing. I don’t hate it, but I feel like there is something that may make me feel more fulfilled and still bring me a solid paycheck. Like you, I have some time to figure out what that may be. 🙂 I’ve considered librarianship, but that’s the only thing I’ve thought about seriously so far. We’ll see. We have our whole lives. 🙂

    Reply
  2. I went to school for civil engineering… did I ever dream that I would dedicate my life to designing roads… um no! lol… I like my job, but sometimes sitting at a desk all day can be so boring. I’m a volunteer coach for cheerleading at night after work and in my dreams that’d be my fulltime job, but all my hours would be at night and during the weekend and that in no way appeals to me. And I like that I’m volunteering and giving girls an opportunity to cheer (that wouldn’t be able to afford the thousands of dollars all star programs cost). Plus, I like my steady paycheck… there’s always a road somewhere that needs to be fixed 🙂

    Reply
    • Infrastructure is important! 🙂 That is great you are doing something you’re passionate about and enjoy in your free time. I think that kind of stuff makes all the difference. I agree about the steady paycheck, it’d be nice to pursue our passions and dreams, but it’s also nice to have that paycheck!

      Reply
  3. I can definitely relate to this. I went to school for Photography and found myself in a city where there wasn’t a huge market for the type of work I was interested in. As a result, I searched other career options and began working in fashion merchandising for a while. My dream always has been, and always will be, to become a professional photographer. While I feel I did benefit from going to college for art, I look back at the experience and realized I probably could have taught myself everything on my own instead of paying so much money to learn it. I’m working in Marketing now and doing freelance photography on the side. While I do in fact know what my particular dream is, I’m still working to get there, and think I will be for a while. I think you’re smart to explore all of your options, especially while you’re still young and have the chance to. If nothing else you’ll have a life full of unique career experiences 🙂 More power to you!

    Reply
    • I think when we are 18 an heading into college, most of us don’t really know what we want to do for the rest our lives! Those who do are lucky. I am in a similar situation! I am working in marketing as well and trying to do my blog and freelance makeup on the side. 🙂

      What area of Orlando are you in? I am in Tampa, but grew up in Oviedo which is near Orlando.

      Reply
      • Well I wish you the best of luck in figuring out what you want to pursue! I actually live in Davenport, but work in Winter Garden. Both very nice areas 🙂 Lucky you to be in Tampa…so close to all of the beautiful gulf beaches!

Leave a Reply

