RSS Feed

Beautification.

Posted on

Remember my last post about dreams and finding what makes you happy? I’ve been doing some thinking. While I may not be ready to commit to a radical change, I could do something that  might fulfill some of the void I often feel.

When I was in college I was really into makeup, specifically MAC Cosmetics. I think a lot of  us had that phase, but I was pretty good at doing my own makeup and I had a lot of fun with it. I really wanted to work for MAC and started trying to make a portfolio. I think I did makeup on two of my friends, but I lacked the confidence. I was at my heaviest weight and didn’t have many friends. I never went further with that dream.

Over the years I’ve remained interested in beauty, even though I’m lazy so you don’t see me dolled up every day. However, I still feel confident that I’m pretty good at makeup and when I take the time to do it up, I do it well.

I did an inventory of my makeup the other day. I still have about 30 MAC eye shadows. I’ve been on Pinterest recently looking for some inspiration and have been seeing a lot of looks using gold and black, creating a smokey eye. This morning I woke up early enough, so I wanted to do something to recreate the look. Since I was only going to work, and more specifically, to an office currently only occupied by myself, another woman, and a dog, I didn’t want to do too dramatic of look for daytime/work. I toned it down so it was more subtle.

subtle gold smokey eye

Sorry for the not-so-great quality of these photos. My iPhone camera and the current lighting outside isn’t offering me much to work with. I used a filter on Instagram which I think helped enhance some of the colors.

For the record, I used:

  • Revlon Age Defying DNA Advantage Foundation (first time using this)
  • Nars blush in Sin
  • MAC Scult/Shape powder duo in Accentuate/Sculpt (I love this product, I’m sad it was LE!)
  • Smashbox Brow Tech in Brunette
  • Dior Show Extase mascara (my favorite mascara by far!)
  • MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack
  • MAC eye shadows in Shroom, Rice Paper, Black Tied
  • Urban Decay eye shadow in Baked
  • MAC lipstick in Cherish (this isn’t showing up well at all)

So there we have it. Next time I will bring you better photos. I know this is just one small step of doing something I enjoy and allows me to feel creative. Hopefully it will lead to more, bigger steps!

Is there a look you would like me to do and post photos and tips of?

About Danielleisms

A lot about life and love...

4 responses »

  1. Super cute! You have an amazing eye for this stuff.

    I have the Blacktrack liner and the Rice Paper shadow! That’s…way more than I though I’d be able to contribute to this post, lol. I think I may have to start using a foundation, and I need to get the right color concealer, maybe a yellow, for my under-eye circles. I read that you should be the opposite-on-the-spectrum color than what you’re trying to conceal, so purple under-eye circles should be covered with yellow concealer. Never knew that!

    We’ll have to take another trip to MAC so you can help me become more legit. ❤ I am building up my MAC brush collection – my primer, concealer, and liner brushes are all MAC. Eventually want to get the shadow and blush brush as well.

    I feel like this is a great step for you to pursue! You enjoy it and are obviously talented at it, so why not?

    Reply
    • Yay! I love the Rice Paper shadow, it goes with everything. I normally use Laura Mercier tinted foundation because I don’t usually need or like a lot of coverage. I tried this one new one b/c I’ll take age defying anything and I wanted to have something with more coverage as an option.

      I need to go to MAC too. I have a gift card and I want to get a red lipstick and a few more shadows. I don’t have a ton of MAC brushes. I think it’s a good deal to get their brush kits that come out around the holidays or go to a Cosmetics Company Outlet to look for them. There is one in Orlando! /exmacbuyingaddict

      🙂 Thanks!

      Reply
  2. I volunteer myself as a guinea pig. Also, we need to go find red lipsticks that work with our faces. I’m convinced they’re out there somewhere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

